Connecticut Counties Named Disaster Areas

Connecticut farmers in Fairfield, Hartford, Litchfield, New London, New Haven and Windham counties can apply for emergency loans from the USDA.
Following a request by Governor Rell, USDA Secretary Tom Vilsack granted the request to declare these areas disasters. Farmers lost 30 percent of their crops from excessive rainfall and flooding over the summer.
“I am very pleased that Secretary Vilsack concurred with our findings that Connecticut farmers face severe financial hardship because of these storms,” Commissioner F. Phillip Prelli said. “It is vital that our farms and farming families have the resources they need to produce the fresh, locally grown food that our citizens rely on year round.”
Those who qualify must have experienced crop loss between May 12 and June 4, 2009. For more information call (860) 871-4095.
Federal Reserve stated interest rates likely to rise. Refinance your farm loan before rates go up. Call a representative by dialing 866-929-5585 or visit us online.