Three Kansas Counties Declared Disasters

Three Kansas counties are eligible for emergency loans through the Farm Service Agency.
Chautauqua, Cowley and Elk county producers who experienced crop or livestock losses from excessive rain, flooding, wind and hail between April 27, 2009 and July 8, 2009 can apply for loans.
FSA Farm Loan Manager Gary Nuss said, “Loans covering physical and/or production losses may be made at 3.75 percent interest rate, and are scheduled for repayment as rapidly as feasible, consistent with the applicant’s reasonable ability to pay.”
Loan money can be used to replace installations, equipment, livestock and to repair buildings.
Eligible producers must be running a family sized farm or ranch and cannot get a loan from any other source.
Applications must be received by April 29, 2010.
For more information call the FSA county office in Winfield at 620-221-2060.
Farm loan rates starting at 2.99%. Lock in before farm loan rates rise. Contact Farm Plus by clicking here or calling toll free 866-929-5585.