Appomattox Farmers May be Eligible for Federal Assistance

The staff at Farm Plus Financial offers it’s condolences to the farmers in Virginia.  A recent article states the Governor of Virginia, Governor Kaine, has declared Brunswick, Charlotte, Gloucester, Mecklenburg, Patrick, Prince George, Scott and Surry counties natural disaster areas due to the drought and excessive heat in 2008. This may bring some assistance to farmers who farm in these counties.  This will allow you to apply for low interest loans with your local FSA offices.
Please know Farm Plus Financial offers low interest rate farm loans in Virginia and we will take into consideration a bad year due to drought or any other form of natural disaster.  We are here to assist in any way.  If you are looking for a farm loan in Virginia, whether it be for operating capital, debt consolidation or a lower interest rate, feel free to contact the friendly, knowledgeable staff at Farm Plus Financial.  Here’s an easy way to reach us, click here or call us toll free at 866.929.5585.

“Governor Timothy M. Kaine today announced that the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture has designated Brunswick, Charlotte, Gloucester, Mecklenburg, Patrick, Prince George, Scott and Surry counties primary natural disaster areas because of reductions in farm production caused by drought and excessive heat that occurred in 2008.
These disaster designations make farmers eligible for low-interest loans and any supplemental relief that might be provided by Congress in the future.
Farmers in the independent cities of Colonial Heights, Hopewell, Newport News and Petersburg, as well as in the following adjacent counties, have received contiguous disaster status and may also be eligible for federal assistance:
Appomattox, Campbell, Carroll, Charles City, Chesterfield, Dinwiddie, Floyd, Franklin, Greensville, Halifax, Henry, Isle of Wight, James City, King and Queen, Lee, Lunenburg, Mathews, Middlesex, Nottoway and Prince Edward.
“Excessive heat and drought reduced the output of farmers in these localities but with approval by the USDA, they are eligible to be considered for assistance,” Governor Kaine said.
Disaster declarations make farm operators in both primary and contiguous areas eligible to be considered for low-interest emergency loans from the Farm Service Agency (FSA) of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, provided they meet certain eligibility requirements. This assistance includes FSA emergency loans and the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Program, which was approved as part of the Food, Conservation and Energy Act of 2008. FSA will consider each application on its own merits by taking into account the extent of the losses, security available and repayment ability. Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with additional information.
Requests for primary federal drought disaster designations are currently pending for these four counties: Craig, King and Queen, King William and Russell.”